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STATE OF MINNESOTA 

IN SUPREME COURT 

C9-81-1206 

PROMULGATION OF AMENDMENTS TO 
THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT 
FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS 

ORDER 

WHEREAS, the Lawyers Professional Responsbility Board and the Board of Law 

Examiners filed petitions with this Court that recommended amendments to Rule 2 of the Rules 

of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys, and 

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court held a hearing on the proposed amendments on May 

29, 1996, and 

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court has reviewed the recommendations and is fully advised 

in the premises, 

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: 

1. Rule 2 of the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys is 

amended as follows: 

RULE 2. REGISTRATION FEE 

In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the 

bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such 

admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in 

this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a 

prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts 

a registration fee in the sum of f+l%t3@ One Hundred Fiftv- 

seven Dollars ($157.00) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereinafter determine. 

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, 
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July, or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts. 

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows: 

$lSW $20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

!!-H3HH $llO.OQ to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board 

$20.00 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund. 

The following attorneys and judges shall pay annual registration fee of ++ty+vo 

s Fifty-one Dollars ($5 1 .OO): 

GO Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of 

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state; 

@I Any attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years; 

Cc) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States. 

The ~5!33&Fiftv-one Dollars ($5 1 .OO) so received shall be allocated 

as follows: 

$-I%0 $20.00 to the State Board of Law Examiners 

$7.00 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education 

$5X35% $24.00 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board. 

Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, or 

who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is so retired 

or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and 

shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently disabled status 

who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of 

status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee. 

Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who 

no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of the 

appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and no engaged in the practice of law, 

shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming 

retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the 

active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the 
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appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee. 

2. The increase in attorney registration fees shall be effective for licenses due for 

renewal on October 1, 1996, and for new licenses issued on or after October 1, 1996. 

DATED:‘&!.&~ 13 , 1996 

BY THE COURT: 

Chief Justice 
OFFICE OF 

APPELLATE COURTS 

JUM 13 1996 
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